Photo of William V. Rossi

South Dakota is the latest state to add notice requirements for data breaches, mandating notice within 60 days of the breach. Like many others before it, South Dakota armed the mandate with steep monetary penalties of up to $10,000 per day, per violation.

Alabama — the sole remaining U.S. state without a data breach law — ushered a data breach bill through the state legislature earlier this week. If Governor Kay Ivey signs the bill into law, all 50 states will have data breach legislation on the books.